Monday, June 24, 2013

Out Of Yesteryear - Mass (2013)

Out Of Yesteryear
Album: Mass
Genre: Blackened Technical Death Metal
Facebook | VK

Track Listing:
1. Paranoid Disgust
2. Messenger of Doom
3. Tyrants or Slaves
4. The Pig King
5. Blood Like Mercury
6. Retribution in Serenity
7. The Primal Silence
8. Call of Sin
9. IX

Download (320kbps)
Bandcamp (6.66) (About $9.00)
Preview: "The Pig King"

Out Of Yesteryear is, as some of you may know, if not my favorite, one of my favorite underground metal bands. My following of them is so severe you may even label me as a fan boy. And that following helped me be one of the first (maybe the first, who knows) to purchase this album and the shirt. In this album, Out Of Yesteryear has parted ways with their keyboardist and dropped the genre tag symphonic, but don't let that deter you. While losing one member, all of the other members stepped up their playing. The guitar work is technical and pretty moody atmospherically. The album has an overall gloomy feel to it. The drummer goes absolutely nuts in the song "Blood Like Mercury" during the guitar solo. His overall drumming style reminds me of a less mature Fleshgod Apocalypse. Their vocalist has stepped up his game and sounds more consistent. This album is honestly sounding like my favorite yet (I'm only on track 7 out of 9). Definitely go buy this album right now, or like them on facebook and tell your whole family about them. Even your grandma. She'll dig their sound. For fans of: Anything sexy in the metal genre. Definitely Album Of The Year contender for me. I am completely positive this will be in the top 5.

1 comment:

  1. Their 2010 release was good, looking forward to this!


Rule number 1: Don't piss and moan.