Tuesday, May 6, 2014

Review: Inferi - The Path Of Apotheosis (2014)

Artist: Inferi
Album: The Path Of Apotheosis
Genre: Technical Death Metal

1. Those Who from the Heavens Came
2. Promethean Kings
3. A Betrayal Unforetold
4. Wrath of the Fallen One
5. The Ophidian Form
6. A Prelude to a Perilous Fate
7. Destroyer
8. Onslaught of the Covenant
9. Marching Through the Flames of Tyranny
10. The Ancients of Shattered Thrones
11. The Path of Apotheosis

I think this album might be my favorite release this year, maybe more so than Archspire’s The Lucid Collective (we will see after Beyond Creation’s and Son of Aurelius’ new albums come out). The technical proficiency of guitarists Malcolm Pugh (Diskreet guitarist and solo project A Loathing Requiem) and Mike Low (Diskreet and ex-Enfold Darkness) is absolutely phenomenal. There are riffs for days, if not, years. I think Malcolm said there are 32 solos contained in 11 songs; fucking ridiculous. If there’s something I love more than a sick riff it’s a fucking shreddy solo, in which they thoroughly deliver. There are some amazing dueling solos. Don’t get me wrong, the rest of band members are amazing at what they do, but this is a guitarist’s dream album. If that sounds like you’d enjoy it, then definitely check this one out, you don’t want to miss it. The big plus and my favorite part: only one of the songs is under 5 minutes at 4:15. I love long songs and they never get dull or boring. Song composition is next level stuff.


written by Derek Knapp

No comments:

Post a Comment

Rule number 1: Don't piss and moan.