Wednesday, August 15, 2012

First Fragment - The Afterthought Ecstasy (2010)

Album: The Afterthought Ecstasy
Technical Death Metal

1. Ordnance
2. Fake Repentance
3. Obsolete Ascendancy
4. Quintessential Rebirth
5. The Afterthought Ecstasy
6. Paradoxal Subjugation

Preview (Fake Repentance)

Some SICK Tech death here. The riffs, solos, and drumming will all have you destroying your house. Their are also some piano-y intros and softer parts that give it a more progressive feel. This is one of my favorite up-and-coming death metal acts, and if their next album sounds anything like this, it will be awesome. 


  1. If you like this, check out Archspire "All Shall Align". The entire album is insane, most technical thing I've ever heard in my meager existence.

  2. This band's guitarist is now in a band I'm gonna post tomorrow...Self Collapse.

  3. ^
    Actually, the guy in first fragment told me he only did session gigs with them for a short period of time (he also recorded some guest leads on their 2 new songs) while they were looking for a permanent guitarist to replace the one who played on this EP.

    Speaking of which, they found a new lead guitarist recently ; His name is Olivier and he plays in a technical death metal band from the same area called Brought By Pain :

    Check them out, great tech death band featuring members of Beyond Creation.


Rule number 1: Don't piss and moan.