Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Obsidian Kingdom – Mantiis (2012)

Obsidian Kingdom
Album:  Mantiis
Genre:  Progressive/Atmospheric Death Metal/Experimental

Track Listing:
1. Not Yet Five
2. Oncoming Dark
3. Through The Glass
4. Cinnamon Balls
5. The Nurse
6. Answers Revealing
7. Last Of The Light
8. Genteel To Mention
9. Awake Until Dawn
10. Haunts Of The Underworld
11. Endless Wall
12. Fingers In Anguish
13. Ball-Room
14. And Then It Was

Download (320kbps):  Zippy / Bandcamp
Support:  Bandcamp (NYP)

So hey, remember how I fangirled about Black Crown Initiate and how they pretty much crossed all the genres I like to see?  These guys do the EXACT SAME THING, and it’s a full length!  They sound like a mixture of Black Crown Initiate, The Ocean, Between The Buried And Me, and Leprous….mmmm.  Metal Injection called them the “masters of every genre”, and after getting about ¾ of the way through this album, they aren’t kidding – SO MANY INFLUENCES.  Wish I'd known about this before making 2012's album of the year list!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Rule number 1: Don't piss and moan.