Monday, August 13, 2012

Sophicide – Perdition of the Sublime (2012)

Album:  Perdition of the Sublime
Genre:  Technical Death Metal

Track Listing:
1. The Art of Atrocity
2. Within Darkness
3. Perdition of the Sublime
4. Of Lust and Vengeance
5. Execration
6. Blood for Honour
7. Freedom of Mind
8. Folie A Deux
9. Lafayette’s Deception
10. Dawn of a New Age
11. The Essence of Warfare

I’ve been waiting for this for a long time, and it’s easily one of the best unsigned technical death metal releases this year.  Technical death metal is really my first love, and I prefer it like Soreption – lots of melody and structure to the shredding rather than just ceaseless and unrelentingly noodling, and this band definitely delivers just that.  You can really tell just from that preview song…unique riffage, pounding rhythms and grooves, and outrageous solos.  So fucking good!  An absolute must-have for even casual fans of the genre.  Elements from Soreption, Diskreet, Necrophagist, and Nile.


  1. Surprisingly, its a one man project.This dude can shred hard Also, Willowtip records is releasing this tomorrow. Definitely picking this up

  2. I'm not so much into the whole death metal stuff, but if you recommend it, I will download it.

  3. preview sounds sick :)

  4. God damn this is sick! Great post man.

  5. try this one


Rule number 1: Don't piss and moan.