Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Within The Ruins - Phenomena (2014)

Artist: Within The Ruins
Album: Phenomena
Genre: Metal, Technical Deathcore, Deathcore
Release Date: July 22, 2014

Track Listing:

1. Gods Amongst Men
2. Clockwork
3. Eternal Shore
4. Dark Monarch
5. Sentinel
6. Ataxia III
7. Enigma
8. Hegira
9. Ronin
10. The Other
11. Calling Card


After "Elite" Within The Ruins cemented their originality and unique sound as their own. "Phenomena" is exactly where "Elite" left off. This album full of complex song structures and even more effect ridden guitar riffs, but seems to be missing the hooks that left most of us drooling after Elite. "Gods Amongst Men" was a great track to select as their single, as it may go down as the "Feeding Frenzy" of this album and definitely a crowd pleaser. 

"Eternal Shore" has an absolutely terrific solo. Joe has mastered the delicate blend of shred and melody as he again demonstrates in the highly anticipated Ataxia III. That being said...the instrumental Enigma has to be one of the funnest songs to listen to, as it throws in some highly recognizable bits of tunes as Mario and Inspector Gadget and some others I'm still trying to decipher.

The Drummer aka Kevin and Andrew really pull in some nice tight rhythms to lay the groundwork for Joe's imaginative riffs and leads. Tim does what he does best, and seems he's really trying to explore some new grounds as he puts in some different vocal ranges.

This album certainly has that killer Within The Ruins feel to it, pick a random track and any fan will recognize who it is. If you enjoyed their previous works, you will not be disappointed, but don't expect any new punches to be thrown. Seems they have found their sound and perfected it.

Phenomena is a solid 7/10.

Preorder the album and support these monsters on their upcoming tour on Summer Slaughter, album drops July 22, 2014.

- Doom -

No comments:

Post a Comment

Rule number 1: Don't piss and moan.